Evaluation of the youth care project “Mensch ärgere Dich…”

Evaluation of the youth care project “Mensch ärgere Dich…”

Client: City of Munich (Stadtjugendamt) (1999-2000) | Area: Social Work & Social Risks, Evaluation and Accompanying Research

Subject of Evaluation |

The subject of evaluation was a sub-project of the crime prevention project “TRAC” (“Teen Rage Against Crime”), which was implemented through a cross-institutional cooperation of the youth welfare service Munich, education authority and the police. Research assignment included (1) the ambitions of the participating institutions and (2) reflecting the effectiveness of the measures. The measures package “Mensch ärgere Dich…” is not seen as unchangeable, but conceived as improvable based on the respective results.

  1. First of all, as common for an input oriented evaluation, the conception of the project and the participating parties were in focus: What is the relation between the youths´ expectations and the ambitions of the project partners? Is there an overall consensus within the group of project partners, regarding the defined ambitions? Has the project been conceptualised, scheduled and implemented in a way, it was possible to go after the defined ambitions? Did the institutional and structural conditions prove as correct and appropriate?
  2. How effective were the applied measures? Did the applied measures help accomplishing the project objectives? Were the youths able to action the proposed behaviours? Did the pupils actually show the intended learning curves? As the evaluation was implemented within a narrow time frame, the project progression and appearing effects could be pointed out (compliance evaluation), in order to give a conclusive (provisional) estimation to the end of the school year (output evaluation).

Methods of Survey and Analysis|

A combination of qualitative methods came to use:

  • Semi standardised interviews with five pupils and participating project partners
  • Document analysis (conception, game instructions and process based project materials)
  • Participant observation during the project execution
  • Group discussion with the project class

Results |

All in all, the project can be estimated as a suitable measures package for crime prevention. A detailed project report can be ordered at: Stadtjugendamt München, KJS, Orleansplatz 11, 81667 München

Responsible | Dr. Patricia Pfeil und Dipl.-Soz. Sylvia Lustig

Evaluation des Jugendhilfeprojekts „Mensch ärgere Dich…“

Evaluation des Jugendhilfeprojekts „Mensch ärgere Dich…“

Auftraggeber: Landeshauptstadt München (Stadtjugendamt) (1999-2000) | Bereich: Soziale Arbeit & Soziale Risiken, Evaluationen & Begleitforschung

Gegenstand der Evaluation |

Evaluiert wurde ein Teilprojekt des Kriminalpräventionsprojektes „TRAC“ („Teen Rage Against Crime“), das in einer institutionenübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit aus Stadtjugendamt München, Staatlichem Schulamt und der Polizei durchgeführt wurde. Der Forschungsauftrag umfaßte (1) die Zielsetzungen der beteiligten Institutionen und (2) die Betrachtung der Wirkung von Maßnahmen. Das Maßnahmenbündel „Mensch ärgere Dich…“ sollte als nicht unveränderbar, sondern aufgrund der Ergebnisse als verbesserbar aufgefaßt werden.

1. Zum einen standen als klassischer Gegenstand einer Inputevaluation die Projektkonzeption und die beteiligten Institutionen selbst im Mittelpunkt: In welchem Verhältnis stehen die Erwartungen der Jugendlichen zu den Zielsetzungen der Projektpartner? Besteht über die formulierten Ziele Konsens innerhalb der Gruppe der Projektpartner? Wurde das Projekt so konzipiert, geplant und durchgeführt, dass die formulierten Projektziele verfolgt werden konnten? Erwiesen sich die institutionellen und strukturellen Rahmenbedingungen als angemessen und geeignet?

2. Welche Wirkung wurde mit den eingesetzten Maßnahmen erzielt? Führten die Maßnahmen tatsächlich zur Erreichung der Projektziele? Konnten die Jugendlichen die angeregten Verhaltensanweisungen einsetzen? Traten die erwünschten Lernprozesse bei den Schüler/innen tatsächlich ein? Durch die Anlage der Evaluation, die zeitnah einsetzte, konnte der Projektverlauf und die dort aufscheinenden Wirkungen aufgezeigt werden (Complianceevaluation), um dann eine abschließende (vorläufige) Bewertung zum Schuljahresende abzugeben (Outputevalutaion).

Erhebungs- und Auswertungsmethoden |

Eingesetzt wurde ein qualitativer Methodenmix:

  • teilstandardisierte Panelinterviews mit fünf Schüler/innen und den beteiligten Projektpartnern;
  • Dokumentenanalyse (Konzeption, Spielbeschreibungen und prozeßproduzierte Projektmaterialien);
  • teilnehmende Beobachtung während der Projektdurchführung;
  • Gruppendiskussion mit der Projektklasse.

Ergebnisse |

Insgesamt kann das Projekt als geeigneter Maßnahmenkomplex zur Gewaltprävention betrachtet werden. Der ausführliche Projektbericht kann bestellt werden bei: Stadtjugendamt München, KJS, Orleansplatz 11, 81667 München

Bearbeitung | Dr. Patricia Pfeil und Dipl.-Soz. Sylvia Lustig